National Advisory Board

The National Advisory Board of the School of Hotel and Restaurant Management (SHRM) serves as the primary link between SHRM and our alumni, friends, and the business communities by providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information between those engaged in the hospitality industry and the SHRM. In this way the curriculum, research and service activities of the School will be informed by those engaged in the industry, and our industry partners will understand the SHRM’s teaching, research, and service mission and accomplishments.

The goals and responsibilities of the National Advisory Board include raising community awareness of the need for private financial support within the school, advising the Dean and Executive Director on matters of concern to business and the community, and developing opportunities for business partnerships.

2014-2015 National Advisory Board Members Biographies HERE

Current Board Roster, as of 9/29/14

Dr. Wanda Costen, Executive Director

Scott Adams ('00 BAILS)
Market Intelligence Committee
Assistant VP, Desert Area

Naveen Ahuja
Fundraising Committee
Vice President Sales
Hospitality Staffing Solutions

Kelly Balthazor ('92 HRM)
NAU Alum
Fundraising Committee
American Airlines Community Relations

John Cauvin
Executive Board Member
Marketing Intelligence Committee
Executive in Residence
MBA-h Program Director
Northern Arizona University
The W.A. Franke College of Business

Karen Churchard ('81 COM)
Market Intelligence Committee
Assistant Deputy Directory
Arizona Office of Tourism

Todd Davis ('85 HRM)
Fundraising Committee
Chief Information Officer
Choice Hotels International

Milt Ericksen
Executive Board Member
Student Connections Committee
Director of Outreach,
Marketing and Public Relations
Health and Nutrition Services
Arizona Department of Education

Joseph Fassler
Student Connections Committee
Glacier Park, Inc.
Viad Corporation

Jerry Ferrill ('91 HRM)
Branding Committee
Hormel Foods

Wendy N. Ferrill
Vice President, Worldwide Sales
Best Western International, Inc.

Peter Greene
Branding Committee
Which Wich Superior Sandwiches-AZ

Mark Grenoble ('83 MGT)
Executive Board Member
Market Intelligence Committee Lead
Enchantment Group

Steve Hart
Fundraising Committee
General Manager &
Regional Vice President
JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 

Dr. Eugene Hughes
President Emeritus, NAU
Ex-officio member

Mark Koehler
Executive Board Member
Fundraising Committee
Vice President
Operations & Finance, Americas
Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts

Tammy Ledyard ('01 HRM)
Executive Board Member
Student Connections Committee Lead
Management Recruiter
Pappas Restaurants

Paige Lund ('93 HRM)
Executive Board Member
General Manager
Renaissance Phoenix Downtown Hotel

Craig Mason
Market Intelligence Committee
Senior VP, Asset Management
Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc.

Michelle Mason ('92 HRM)
Hospitality Consultants
MM Hospitality

Robb McCreary
Branding Committee
Hotel Director
Talking Stick Resort

Bruce Mosby
Branding Committee
Mosby and Company, Inc.
dba Peet’s Coffee and Tea Shops

Anne Niemiec ('92 HRM)
Executive Board Member
Fundraising Committee Lead
National Director of Sales

Matthew Prausa ('13 HRM)
Student Connections Committee
Bench Manager
Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas I
Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas II

Fred Reese ('91 GBS)
Student Connections Committee
General Manager
Little America Hotel - Flagstaff

Peter Rice
Fundraising Committee
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale  
Resort & Spa at Gainey Ranch

Rich Stark
Chair of Executive Board
Branding Committee
Chief Executive Officer
New York Pizza Dept.

Keith Underwood
Market Intelligence Committee
Marcus & Millichap

Dennis Vollink
Market Intelligence Committee
Drury Southwest, Inc.

Mary Weinman
Branding Committee
Weinman and Associates

Student Board Officers
Matt Grogan–President
Jonathan Jackson–Vice President
Lindsay Kincade–Treasurer
Tyler Roberts–Secretary